Chai Doughnuts

It’s been a while since I told you how much I love chai. Probably like, what, a week? I jest. Long-time readers know it is true, I have a slight chai addiction and I’m not afraid to admit it. The weather here in the New England has been amazing lately — hovering around the 70 degree mark and it’s only March. I don’t know if it will last, but the sudden change has made me switch from my usual steaming cup of chai to a chilly iced one. Equally as good, if you ask me.

Alas, it IS New England, the land where if you don’t like the weather, wait an hour. For all I know, we could get pummeled with a snow storm come April. (Dear Weather Gods, you did not hear that!)

If that happens, it’s going to be hard to relinquish the ice chai and go back to hot, but this recipe might make cold weather a little more tolerable again. I mean, they’re homemade donuts. Homemade CHAI donuts with a coffee glaze. Oh…my…

Dirty Chai Donuts by Wanna Be A Country Cleaver (photo credit to the original post)

Prep Time: 15 Minutes

Cook Time: 8 Minutes

Servings: 13 Doughnuts

ingredients:

doughnuts:

2 cups Cake Flour

3/4 cup Sugar

2 tsp. Baking Powder

3/4 tsp. Salt

1 package Powdered Chai, 1oz.

1/2 cup Buttermilk

¼ cup Strong Coffee

½ tsp. Vanilla Extract

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 Tbsp. Butter, melted

glaze:

1 cup Powdered Sugar

4 Tbsp. Strong Coffee

directions:

Preheat your oven to 425F.
In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, powdered chai, and salt.
 Beat in buttermilk, coffee, eggs, vanilla and melted butter until fully incorporated.

Spray doughnut pan with non-stick spray, filling each cavity with ¼-1/3 cup doughnut batter. Bake in oven for 8 minutes, or until light golden brown.

In small bowl, whisk together powdered sugar and coffee until sugar is dissolved and mixture is runny.
 Pour over each doughnut, or dunk tops of doughnuts into glaze and turn right side up to set. Serve while still slightly warm.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Follow us on:

No comments yet.

Leave a comment