Holy Mole

I’m a big fan of Mexican food, but I don’t make a ton of it myself. I have a Busy-Night burrito recipe that I use often, and if I have some time, I make an enchilada recipe passed down from my mom that is really delicious. But I’ve never branched out from there. But I’m determined to! So I went searching and found a recipe for Chicken Mole that sounds incredible. Not only that, it’s made in the slow cooker, so I can forget about it all day and come home to the smell of a Mexican feast waiting for me.

Mole sauce is common in a lot of Mexican dishes. A savory, spicy taste…and you’ll never guess the secret ingredient. Go on, I’ll wait…

…it’s cocoa powder! The small amount added to the sauce gives it just a little something, that if you didn’t know what was in it, you might not be able to put your finger on it. It’s good! So get out your Azteca D’oro 1519 Spiced Ground Chocolate and whip yourself up some mole!

Slow Cooker Chicken Mole
From Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds (optional)
  • 1 finely chopped canned chipotle chile in adobo sauce
  • 3 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1 (28 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breasts

Directions

  1. Place onion, raisins, garlic, sesame seeds, chipotle pepper, peanut butter and crushed tomatoes in slow cooker. Stir in sugar, cinnamon, chili powder, cumin, coriander, nutmeg, and cocoa powder. Place chicken in the sauce.
  2. Cover; cook on Low until chicken is very tender, about 5 hours.
By Molly
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Follow us on:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe For Chicken | Healthy Eating | Free Tips and Information - October 9, 2011

    […] never branched out from there. But I’m determined to. So I went searching and found a Recipe For Chicken Mole that sounds incredible. Not only that, it’s made in the slow cooker, so I can forget […]

Leave a Reply

