Chai with Mom

We were out shopping once and my mom said, “Let’s stop and get one of those chai lattes you like.” She said it in a “high-class” voice, teasing me a little bit. I was home on break from college, filled with self- importance and an air of sophistication. Let’s face it, I was a bit of a brat.

I pulled up to the drive-thru and ordered two – one for each of us. She was impressed with my ordering skills, the way I knew how to speak the language of the coffee chain. The Italian cup size, the request to make it extra hot. She loved the drink, and although I was trying to maintain my college cool, I loved that she did.

Many years have passed. I’m no longer a college freshman home on break. Now I’m a wife, a mother, a homeowner. And each time my mom visits, I like to go out and grab us a chai. She’s no longer impressed with my ordering skills, but that’s ok. I don’t need her to be. Instead of being self-important, now I’m appreciating these quiet moments with my mom over the steam coming out of the cup.

And that makes me so very happy.

By Molly

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Lifestyle

Subscribe

Follow us on:

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

