Rock You Like a Hurricane

As I type this, we are experiencing the wrath of Hurricane Irene. Truthfully, it’s not as bad as we anticipated, which is great. We had some rain, and the crazy wind continues, but as of right now we still have power and no trees have come crashing though the windows. I consider this a good thing. Hopefully our good fortune continues long enough for me to write this post 😉

To prepare, I went grocery shopping, put batteries in the flashlights and filled up every conceivable container with water. Two pitchers, countless water bottles, and two giant lobster pots. (I have no idea why I own two lobster pots. To date, the number of lobsters cooked in either of them is a big, fat zero.) I even went as far to make some vegetarian black bean burgers I could cook up on our gas stove in the event that we lost power around dinner time. No meat, no spoil!

I thought I was in the clear. I thought I had covered all my bases and if we had to ride it out for a few days, we’d be all set.

Except do you know what I forgot?

I forgot to get chai. Talk about a natural disaster.

This morning, I found myself actually considering braving the storm to venture out to a local coffee shop I heard was still open. My husband vetoed that idea pretty quickly, reminding me that was, in fact, a crazy idea, and he would not let me risk a limb through the windshield for some caffeine. And apparently I’m not the only one. Countless friends have posted photos on Facebook of their coffee makers hooked up to generators. People need their java!

UGH.

So here I sit, chai-less. If I close my eyes I can almost taste it. I guess that’s just going to have to do.

Until tomorrow. You can bet I’ll be out the door first thing in the morning in search of some.

By Molly

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Lifestyle

Subscribe

Follow us on:

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

