Mommy juggling and sipping on her favorite MOCAFE beverage! (Part 5)

By Courtney

My older son’s favorite ice cream flavor is vanilla.  And before you tell me that all kids like vanilla, and that they like it the best, I’ll have you know that my husband’s favorite ice cream flavor is vanilla, too.

I’m of the mindset that it’s boring.  Don’t get me wrong, I like it just fine (but my husband will tell you that when I hear something labeled as “fine”, when I describe something as “fine”, it really means…so-so…).  But when I was meeting with a client over breakfast one morning, our discussion turned to ice cream and how you can spiff up that fine flavor with espresso.  Because who doesn’t like coffee-flavored ice cream?

Maybe I’m a late-comer to this recipe, but what I learned is that you can take any brand of vanilla ice cream and jazz it up by pouring a shot of espresso over it for an instant yummy treat.  Granted, you have to like ice cream and you have to like coffee (obviously), but after trying it I bet you’ll say it’s better than fine.

So, one afternoon, as I was standing in my quiet kitchen, with both kiddos napping away, I was wondering what I can make that’s different from the other recipes I have concocted with Mocafe’s goodies.

While I was pondering this I decided to take an ice cream break, but I was immediately saddened when I realized that the mint chocolate chip was gone and all we had was vanilla.  And then it hit me: I knew what to do! Follow instructions for making hot cocoa (I recommend the Azteca D’oro 1519 Mexican Spiced Cocoa), and then pour it over a bowl of vanilla ice cream.  And there you have it: a delicious, different, better-than-fine treat.  There’s nothing boring about it.

Follow Courtney here and here.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Follow us on:

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

