Mornings Never Tasted So Good

By Molly

I’ve never really been a breakfast person. I wake up hungry, sure, but first thing in the morning very little appeals to me in the food department. Cereal leaves me hungry 20 minutes later. Oatmeal is too heavy. Pancakes and waffles too sweet, and eggs? Meh, I could take them or leave them. Don’t get me wrong, I recognize the benefits of starting my day with a healthy breakfast, I just can’t always bring myself to do it. Throw a very active nearly-one-year-old into the morning mix and I barely have time to eat even if I want to!

Recently, though, I discovered the perfect solution: a breakfast drink! Part fruit, part protein…and a little bit of caffeine to get things going. It fills my belly, is delicious, and I can make it before the baby can get into too much trouble.

Here’s my go-to recipe:

1 banana
1 cup milk (Your choice here. I usually use 2%, but on occasion I use almond milk to boost the protein)
1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter
3 tablespoons Original MOCAFE Mocha Frappe mix (http://www.mocafe.net/product/nav/7407.aspx)

Throw it all in the blender and mix until smooth. On a hot day, toss is 3-4 ice cubes to make it icy!

The best way I can describe this is “decadent”. The milk and banana give the drink a thick, yet smooth and silky texture. The MOCAFE Mocha Frappe mixes with the peanut butter and teases my taste buds into thinking I’m having a luxurious cafe drink, rather than something I mixed up in my kitchen in under three minutes.

My breakfast dilemma has definitely been solved. Try it, I bet you like it too!

Molly is a stay-at-home mom to a wiggly little boy. She has a fondness for iced chais, high heeled shoes and grilled cheese sandwiches.
You can read all about it on her blog, These Little Moments: http://theselittlemoments.wordpress.com
And follow her on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mollylovesshoes

Tags: , , ,

Categories: General Discussions

Subscribe

Follow us on:

3 Comments on “Mornings Never Tasted So Good”

  1. June 15, 2011 at 7:12 PM #

    Yum, that sounds so good! I’m a These Little Moments reader following you over, and am glad I did! It might be tie to put my magic bullet to work with this recipe =)

    • June 16, 2011 at 8:26 AM #

      Welcome, Katie! We are happy to have you here :).

  2. August 15, 2011 at 9:46 AM #

    Another These Little Moments reader here! I think I will also have to put this to the test! I’m very much a breakfast person but with a 5-month-old it’s just too much trouble to make a real meal, so usually I just have coffee, and sometimes a PopTart if I’m feeling fancy. (It’s sad when a PopTart is considered fancy!)

    Looking forward to more posts from Molly here :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,702 other followers

